Thailand Travel Guide |
Home Bangkok Accommodation Flights to Thailand Information Things to do Travel Guide


Thailand visaWhile many visitors to Thailand will need a visa, there are 42 countries that hold Tourist Visa Exemption status. What that means is that upon arrival, citizens of these countries will receive a 15- or 30-day stamp in their passports. In general, the 15-day stamp is for those who arrive via land, while those who fly into Thailand will get a 30-day stamp. Note that you may be asked for proof that you will leave the country (such as your airline ticket) and/or evidence of sufficient finances for your stay.

There are 42 countries that receive a visa exemption; these include:

  • United States
  • Canada
  • Australia
  • New Zealand
  • United Kingdom
  • Ireland
  • Sweden
  • Norway
  • Peru
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Greece
  • Germany

For a complete list, check Thailand’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs website.

If you want to stay longer than the 15-30 allotted days, you’ll either need to apply for a visa before entering Thailand, or make a “border run” before your entry stamp expires.  Many travel agents in Thailand are set up to  help travelers make border runs, as it’s a very common practice. Often you’ll need to get a visa for the country you’re briefly crossing in to (for example, you’ll need to pay to get a Visa on Arrival in Cambodia, even if you’re simply turning around and going back in to Thailand the same day). Still, the process is very easy.

Also check out our posts on embassies in Bangkok.

[Photo credit: alex-s, Flickr]